Downloading PS2 ISOs and burning them onto discs?

The Almighty Hamster

New Challenger
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I enjoy collecting PS2 games, but have been wanting to try and download ISOs and burn them onto discs to see if they would work. Complete newbie to this, I haven't got a modded PlayStation 2 as I am not all too tech-savvy. Only ever downloaded ROMs and used easy emulators. There are a lot of games I used to own but the discs are either damaged or the market for them is super expensive these days. Is it worth the hassle burning the ISOs onto discs or is it better just emulating or buying the physical copy? Seriously, I was a carboot sale today and it was £15 for TMNT. I get that's cheap considering the price of some games (cough Rule of Rose cough) but come on man. Everything costs a fortune nowadays and I'm being priced out of vidya by other collector nerds inflating the price. Decided to settle with one and got R Type Final for £6. If companies are only going to re-release crappy overpriced "remasters" on newer consoles or leave their IP's to die then no wonder so many people prefer digital over physical. The prices these days are nuts. I figured since DVD discs are only like £6 for x16 each off eBay, I could save an absolute fortune just by doing this.

Last edited:
Sadly Discs are not a good media for long term storage (search "disc rot"). Specially when the original discs are already 20 years old.
Burning isn't really recommended imo.
I think the best you can do if you want "Original Hardware" is to mod it with an ODE (Optical Disc Emulator), that does everything the CDs and CD Reader did but from a Flash Memory Stick, this greatly improves read/write speeds, there's no noise, and you can easily transfer tons of games into it.

Beware there's "purists" who would condemn ODEs and not even consider it "The Original Experience".